Teams Erickson and McNamara take home first and third place respectively at the recent Shark Tank Competition

Loren Erickson, PhD – left, Coleen McNamara, MD – middle, Justin Taylor, PhD – right

Nearly 300 School of Medicine research faculty gathered February 2 – 3 to learn from experts and exchange ideas at the 2024 research retreat.

The highlight of the second day was the Shark Tank Competition. Provost Ian Baucom announced an additional contribution of $200,000 to the award pool, $150,000 from the Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost and $50,000 from UVA Brain Institute. Five teams pitched their innovative ideas targeting large and complex (P&U level) grants. Our Sharks posed questions to each team, and then the audience cast their votes.

At the closing reception, Dean Kibbe announced that an additional $150,000 was added to the prize, bringing the total amount to $500,000! She also announced the winning teams: Team Kuan and Team McNamara tied for third place, each awarded $50,000. Team Eyo took second place, which was a $100,000 prize. And in a tie for first place was Team Payne and Team Erickson. Each of the first place teams received $150,000.

View full article at SOM Medicine in Motion News Website